About MBOA

Why Mr. Bass of Arkansas

In 1974 Porter Everett had a plan to bring a tournament series to Arkansas that would mimic the newly formed national tournament trail, “Bassmaster.” It was Porter’s desire to put into place a cutting edge series that would give the fishermen in Arkansas a platform to hone their competitive fishing skills so that one day they could make the jump to be ready and able to compete on the national pro level.

Mr. Bass of Arkansas Tournament Officials

It worked very well. Through the past 42 years the Mr. Bass of Arkansas Tournaments has been able to keep that inspiration alive and not only have many fishermen gone on to compete, but several have become World Champions. Here are a few of examples of these fishermen.

Doug Garrett – Bassmaster Mega Bucks Champion -1997 & 1998
George Cochran – Bass Master Champion -1987 & 1996
Eddie Waits – All American
Ron Shuffield – Touring Pro -17yrs.
Scott Rook – Bassmaster Legends -2006
Mike Wurm – Bassmaster Top 100 -1996
Scott Suggs – Forrest L. Wood Cup Champion -2007
Billy McCaghren – Bassmaster Rookie of the Year -2010
Kevin Short – Bassmaster Open Champion -2011
Keith Williams – FLW Tour Champion Kentucky Lake -2009
Mark Davis – Bassmaster Angler of the Year -1995, 1998 & 2001 and Bassmaster Classic Champion -1995
Sterling Williams – All American Champion -1998
Greg Hackney – FLW Angler of the Year -2005

Mr. Bass of Arkansas Pros

These fishermen and our great sponsors have made the Mr. Bass of Arkansas Tournaments, the most prestigious trail in Arkansas. Ranger Boats, Mercury Outboards, Evinrude Outboards, AllStar Rods, Pflueger Reels, and many others have contributed to our success.